REVIEWS OF LES VALLAIES 2012
family friendly gites in France
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
and before
Hurst family review of Les Vallaies, Vierge gite, June 2012 - children aged 4 & 2 yrs
We stayed here for a week with our nearly 4 and nearly 2 yr old. According to our eldest ''this is the best holiday
house we have stayed in !'' The pool and garden are fantastic for pre school aged children - safe, secure, well
maintained but not so pristine that you worry about letting small children enjoy themselves. The gites are well used but
well loved, so feel homely and comforatble. We have enjoyed eating outside together in the sunshine and the
peaceful location of the gites. It was nice to meet the other family sharing the site and the children all enjoyed having
playmates. Equally the set up here allowed us all to have privacy and time together as a family which is what we really
wanted. We had anticipated making use of some of the organised activities but had such agreeable weather and in
such a great locxation to explore the area that we ended up being too busy. The children loved the beaches at
Marennes, Royan and Chatelaillon and we all thought the zoo at la palmyre was outstanding - not to be missed. All
within an hour in the car so easy to plan around nap times and not too much driving after coming so far south. For us,
staying at Les vallaies ticked all our boxes and we would definitely recommend
Byrne family review of Les Vallaies, Vierge gite, July 2012 - children aged 5, 4 and 2yrs
The children really enjoyed this very spacious gite. It had everything a family of young children need, high chair, stair gates, washing machine, plastic cups etc As
onto the garden where the children played on the swings, sandpit and trampoline (big hit with the 2yr old !) and we met a lovely family that stayed in the gite next to
us and the children all played in the garden together. The pool was a wonderful bonus also on the hot days - it was well laid out with a very shallow end. The
children loved having a long dip in the pool as well as their mother ! There was also a games room that the boys loved to play table football etc. The pool was
alarmed also. I would highly recommend a holiday at these gites and we hope to be back again to Vierge at Les Vallaies again soon.
Cross family review of Les Vallaies, Cygne gite, September 2012 - children aged 8 and 5yrs
Nicely situated to enjoy the local sites eg Cognac and St Jean d'Angely. Our boys really enjoyed playing with the other kids who were staying at the same time -
either in the pool or footie/table tennis meaning mum and dad could relax with a beer or glass of wine ! The pizza oven is a really good idea, we had a very
sociable evening making our own pizzas. All in all a lovely holiday.
Bromfield family review of Les Vallaies, Vierge gite, August 2012 - children aged 8 and 4 yrs
What a fantastic relaxing holiday. Thank you Wendy and Chris. Our daughter loved the diving so much that she did it twice and is looking forward to a night dive
next year ! Our son enjoyed the swimming in the pool which had great access for him. The vine walk was great fun for the kids and interesting for the adults too,
Chris is so knowledgable. Both children enjoyed the t-shirt painting and made fantastic designs, Wendy was so patient. The pizza and bbq's in the communal area
were fabulous bringing everyone together and met new friends. A lovely relaxing break with everything you need. We loved it so much we've booked again for next
year !
Sheppard family review of Les Vallaies, Pavillon villa, August 2012 - children aged 8, 6 and 4 yrs
An absolutely fantastic holiday - soooooo relaxing ! The space and flexibility of the villa, gardens and site overall has been perfect for peace and quiet as well as
fun and socialising as and when it was needed and wanted. The villa facilities have been fantastic, the star watching superb and the pool has been our kids
second home because it is so warm ! The attention to the little things has really impressed us - we've stayed in gites many times and this is without a doubt been
the best - the simple provision of fun.... fantastic ! Activities - of course the pizza oven, another master stroke along with Wendy's dads stories ! The scuba diving
will also be talked about for many many years ! The weather has been fantastic so we have really only done the pool and beach - there have also been plenty of
other families with children of a similar age and attitude to ours making for great holiday friendships and a fantastic magic show ! As for beaches - St Georges de
Didonne is a favourite but we went to Ile de Oleron for a try of the waves and again the kids will be talking about that day for many many years. Wendy and Chris
have been perfect hosts - there when you need them and there just before as well. Their passion for the gites and knowledge of the area is fascinating - and they
seem like really nice people, nothing needs to change (maybe a set of french doors leading onto the play garden !!) We'll be back in 2013 !
Ferguson family review of Les vallaies, Cygne and Cassiopee gites, July 2012 - children aged 9, 6 and 3 yrs
Thank you Wendy, Chris and family, We've had a lovely, fun and relaxing holiday and don't want to go home - what more can we say ! Our gite was great for us
and our kids. We particularly enjoyed the vine walk, pizza evenings and t-shirt painting - we'll have to come back to fit in all the other stuff !
Brown family review of Les Vallaies, Baleine gite, August 2012
We have all had a lovely week and thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful region of France. We had a great day out in the lovely town of La Rochelle and another at the
beach at Fouras. Cognac was a great half day with a visit to the Hennessy disillery. We have enjoyed many of your recommendations of places to visit and our
daughter loved the scuba diving experience. Many thanks.   
Weston family review of Les Vallaies, Vierge gite, September 2012 - children aged 1.5 and 3.5yrs
Thank you for a very enjoyable holiday . The gite and facilities were just what we were looking for. The children loved playing on the trampoline, swings and in the
pool and wendy house. It was also great to meet other families and enjoy a Teddy bears picnic together. Our off site favourites were La Palmyre zoo, Fouras
beach and La Rochelle (especially the aquarium) We were also grateful for the ample downstairs space in the gite and the toys which were provided. There was a
dvd too - plenty to keep the children occupied on a grey day !
Hartree/Deans family review of Les Vallaies, Baleine and Cassiopee gites, July 2012 - children aged 7 yrs to 78 yrs !
Having stayed in these gites over many years, we have never been disappointed ! They just get better. Every holiday we find different activities for the children as
they get older - most recent trips have been to paleosite near Saintes and surfing at the Ile de Oleron, however our old favourites are Vallay des Singes and the
zoo at La Palmyre which appeal to all ages. The addition of the pizza oven in the garden at Les vallaies was inspired and we have had some lovely evenings in the
garden chatting with new friends. Chris and Wendy are great hosts - unfailingly cheerful ! We hope to return again and again !
Quiet place but possibility to make social contacts; very child friendly (lots of toys, safety tools, lots of spaces, trampoline, heated pool and nice for very little
children) good location, lots of things to do, cities, coast, markets; nice activities - bears picnic; plus beds ready for sleeping; open culture to help and ask
questions; we had a great time and could relax 100% and enjoy the children.
It's definitely worth going here and we will recommend this place to other families in Holland. We loved the vine walk, Chris knows so much of this area and the wine
(I'm a little bit jealous!) Wendy does really know how to do a really nice pizza evening. They both do so much to help and make your holiday even better. We and
our children made a lot of friends. See you next year !!